CIREFE

A few weeks ago, I wrote about the different schools that you could attend at Rennes. I gave a quick overview about CIREFE. Since I’m attending there right now, I wanted to give the full information about it because I think it’s an awesome option for those who don’t know ANY French, but want to study here. In my opinion, it’s a great stepping stone.

What is it?

As I stated before it’s a specialized intensive French courses for foreigners. I’ve seen other French courses here in Rennes, but they aren’t rated as well. And I know you will be able to get a student visa with this program.

Where is it?

It’s located at Rennes 2. (Batiment D to be exact)

When is it?

There are four different options:

  • Semester – These are 13 week courses offered twice a year. Either from the end of September until the middle of December, and from February until May. Depending on the level, it’s 16 to 20 hours per week.
  • Linguistic Support – These are the nightly classes offered to students who are already enrolled at a university, and want some extra help. It’s 4 hours per week from 6:15 to 8:15 pm; 2 hours for writing and the other 2 focused on speaking.
  • Summer classes –  A two or four-week intensive course that helps student adapt to the everyday life in France quickly, and discover the French culture.

How much is it?

  • Semester – €1483 for the full year or €1053 for one semester.
  • Linguistic Support – There are three different prices for each semester. €130 for students who are going to Rennes 2. €160 for students who go to an establishment who is a partner with CIREFE. €260 for students who attend a school who’s not a partner with CIREFE.
  • Summer classes – For the four weeks it cost €880, and €480 for the two-week class.

Why?

  • When I arrived, my level of French was nada! And now after about a year I’m not a fluent native, but I know I can get around. And the courses really helped with that.
  • They offer different excursions throughout Bretagne at a cheaper rate than going there by yourself, and you usually have a guide.
  • It’s a mix of international students from all over the world, but they organize meet and greet with native French speakers as well.
  • They encourage you to expand your French by joining one of their clubs in  journalisme, singing, theater, music, Photoshop, and cinema.

If you have any other questions about the program let me know!

A bientot

One Comment Add yours

  1. Pingback: CERF – Rennaide

Leave a comment